Thread: Catalian Independence Movement.

Lightbulb Catalian Independence Movement.

Did I spell that right? Who fucking cares? It's fucking Spain for crying out loud.

I have not bothered to learn about this movement till recently, and now that I am studying it, it seems to be a fairly simple matter that is roughly analogous to the US and Californistan's independence movement.

It's about a poorly managed, deeply indebted, semi-autonomous state blessed with riches that have been flushed away. The leaders there blame the Government of Spain and essentially are arguing they can do much better if they have the power to print money and to tax than the government of Spain can. Sound familiar?

Also, check this out:

Many of Catalonia's current problems with Salafi-Jihadism are self-inflicted. In an effort to promote Catalan nationalism and the Catalan language, Catalonian pro-independence parties have deliberately promoted immigration from Arabic-speaking Muslim countries for more than three decades, in the belief that these immigrants (unlike those from Latin America) would learn the Catalan language rather than speak Spanish.

Although some Catalans are having second thoughts about the wisdom of promoting Muslim mass immigration as a strategy to achieve Catalan independence, it is estimated that up to 10,000 Catalans with links to the separatist movement have actually converted to Islam in recent years. It is believed, for example, that two out of every ten Catalan radicals who belong to the far-left political party, the Republican Left of Catalonia (ERC), are converts to Islam.
    https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/3...lamic-republic
    Does that sound familiar? Thought so.

Basically, a bunch of leftists have left Catalonia 50B worth of debt, a sea of illegal aliens they encouraged to come there, and now they're wanting to break away so they can print enough money to make their dreams come true.